• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Apple Shortcake, Prima and Basic Grey

024

Today we ate apple shortcake in memory of Nana and Grandad. Nana’s apple shortcake was the best … mine isn’t quite as good … but I use her recipe, so it’s as close as I can get. Maybe it’s that I convert ounces to grams … or maybe it’s that I use a mixer instead of my hand like I remember her doing … I made sure I used cold apple like her recipe says this time … maybe when I grow up to be a Nana I’ll have it sorted!

Today is/or would be Nana’s birthday and also the day Grandad died … so it’s a good day to eat shortcake and remember.

Edited to add recipe:

Cream together 4 oz butter and 4 oz sugar add 1 egg, mix in 1 1/2 cups flour and 1 tsp baking powder … kneed and roll out on a baking tray. Put COLD stewed apple on one side and then fold the other side over to make the top. Squash the sides together to stop the apple escaping and bake until slightly brown.

Prima … this is my ‘build a page’ layout for October.

006

This is my cousin Karen’s sweet baby … she lives in Melbourne.

015

Cute huh?

And new Basic Grey …

003

So maybe I need to start a scrapbook album for Siena!

my signature