• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • October 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Apple Shortcake, Prima and Basic Grey

024

Today we ate apple shortcake in memory of Nana and Grandad. Nana’s apple shortcake was the best … mine isn’t quite as good … but I use her recipe, so it’s as close as I can get. Maybe it’s that I convert ounces to grams … or maybe it’s that I use a mixer instead of my hand like I remember her doing … I made sure I used cold apple like her recipe says this time … maybe when I grow up to be a Nana I’ll have it sorted!

Today is/or would be Nana’s birthday and also the day Grandad died … so it’s a good day to eat shortcake and remember.

Edited to add recipe:

Cream together 4 oz butter and 4 oz sugar add 1 egg, mix in 1 1/2 cups flour and 1 tsp baking powder … kneed and roll out on a baking tray. Put COLD stewed apple on one side and then fold the other side over to make the top. Squash the sides together to stop the apple escaping and bake until slightly brown.

Prima … this is my ‘build a page’ layout for October.

006

This is my cousin Karen’s sweet baby … she lives in Melbourne.

015

Cute huh?

And new Basic Grey …

003

So maybe I need to start a scrapbook album for Siena!

my signature

10 Responses

  1. I think using your Nana’s special recipe is a lovely way to remember her and your Grandad. My Grandma made a similar apple shortcake and like you I am yet to perfect her recipe! 🙂

    Beautiful layouts … your cousin’s little girl is very cute indeed. I think an album just for her sounds like a great idea!

  2. Gorgeous layouts – both of them … and yep, definitely cute.

    I have fond memories of apple shortcake that my Nana made and my MIL makes a super duper yummy shortcake as well – not something that I have tried to make myself.

  3. Super layouts as always Bev – your apple shortcake looks declicious – what a lovely way to remember your Nana and your Grandad.

  4. Love the layouts – yeah for babies from Melbourne! My little niece is coming over for a visit tomorrow from Melbourne – the kids are so excited to be able to meet her!

  5. Sounds like a great reason to eat shortcake – yes, mixing by hand makes a big difference. Very nice LOs there.

  6. Nice!!
    Yumm at the apple shortcake – I’ve never given it a go but it looks mighty tasty. Bet by the time you’re a nana, it’ll be darn near perfect!

  7. Fantastic layouts Beverley. Love the way you are remembering your Nana and Grandad – food was such an important part of family life for that generation.

  8. So wished I hadn’t chosen to look at your blog right now. I felt like eating and decided to distract myself with a little blog browsing!

    Now about that apple shortcake…

  9. Hi Bev,
    Just caught up on your blog -wow what a lot of stuff you are sharing lately – awesome, awesome layouts – I love them all.

    XX

  10. Hello Beverley,

    while I was looking for a receipt for an apple shortcake, a picture of your tasty cake lead me to your page. It looks similiar to the one my hostmum in NZ made.. Could you send me the receipt – it would be really great =)
    Cheers, Janina from Germany

Thanks for your thoughts ...

