• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • February 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    2425262728  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Jessi turns 9 – The Cake.

Jessi is officially 9 as of yesterday.

128-001

I made a polka dot cake which I happened to see on pinterest a few weeks ago … lucky I was able to talk Jessi out of the pretty pink poodle cake she had spotted in a magazine … that just wouldn’t fit with the ‘rainbow’ colourful theme that was forming in my head.

So first I had to make colourful cake pop ball thingys using a borrowed cake pop tin which was actually silicon and didn’t work quite as well as I imagine a tin one would … being flexible is not such a good thing in this case. Anyway it worked well enough for what I needed. Once the balls were formed I then placed them in a round cake tin and added more white cake mix and baked again like a regular cake.

030

I made 3 cakes the same and layered them together … that top one went a bit hill shaped on top so I had to slice some off … but at least I could see the polka dot effect was there.

035

 

Then all I had to do was slap on some white icing and cover it in lollies … easy.

And inside it looked something like this …

135

Impressive enough for 9 year olds anyway.

my signature

 

4 Responses

  1. wow i love that cake!!!
    will know i can call if i need something
    that fun!!!

  2. Pretty darn impressive to me and I’m a little past nine LOL.

  3. Happy Birthday, Jessi! What an awesome cake – good enough for 34-year-olds too me thinks 😉

  4. coolness! Tell me something… are the dots tough from being cooked twice? I’ve seen this kind of cake done in various ways but I’m curious about the texture.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

