• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • October 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Spring Edition

Well, that was a rather long, yet unintentional pause in blogging … life sometimes moves at a faster than blogable pace!

I wanted to tell you about my Spring Edition adventure … having not been to an Autumn Escape event before it was a real ‘treat yourself’ moment to sign up for SE … I’m grateful to Janine for encouraging me to do it … and offering to come too … she’s good like that!

We made it a bit of a road trip adventure, travelling up at a leisurely pace on the Thursday, stopping for shopping opportunities along the way and trying out new cafes. That first night we ate outside in Taupo with the views of the sun setting over the lake … the weather was pleasantly co-operative for outside dining and the restaurant provided those big heaters and blankets too in case it got a bit too cool.

The event itself was fabulous … I really appreciated all the little details, like the table settings when we arrived …

Those empty little plastic containers … there was some debate as to which was for rubbish and which should be filled with lollies from here …

We had fantastic table mates …

although by the time we each disappeared for classes there wasn’t a whole lot of time with all 4 of us at the table together.

The classes … first Janine and I did the tray class with Paula Cheney.

I kept up, did what I was told mostly and it was all good …

The next day I did a Natalie May class …

This one took a bit of finishing afterwards … lots of fussy cutting and I added in the dark brown for a bit more contrast …

I didn’t really have a plan of layouts to complete while in the crop room so I made use of the time to finish these classes and a couple of canvas projects I’d been working on then I decided that maybe I needed to do another class to keep me busy.

This one was good and messy and came with some cool kaiser background stamps and a brick mask. Thankful that I was able to sit next to Delys who shared her brown ink with me and wasn’t put off when I strayed from the instructions and did my own thing.

Besides classes and lollies there was also good food … in fact, it felt like we were constantly eating, having just got over one meal and then morning or afternoon tea was served … it was nice to get to know other scrappers while eating and hear about the other classes we didn’t manage to do.

And perhaps one of the most ingenious things … was that they had Andrea being the official photographer … cos I snapped a few photos at 10am on Friday morning and then managed to put my camera away and forgot to take any more … so most of those photos above are hers … which is why I’m in them I suppose!

 

We stayed an extra night after the event finished so that we could travel back at a leisurely pace on Monday, stopping at all the important places along the way. I ended up with a few treasures …

I was on a mission to find wooden rulers and maps … managed a few of those and some little bottles and some large doily type cloths and some old zips and tins of dye … and another hem measuring stick which is a good place for storing washi tape. The vintage camera was a nice find … there were more, but I only picked one. Oh and then there was the light … which was really just good timing as it was brought into the shop while we were there …

Planning to make a new shade and paint the stick bit … one day …

4 Responses

  1. HAHA i thought you did well to get into so many pics!!!

    love the pics…and isnt the food the best!!!
    glad you had fun…love all the classes you took
    look fun!!!

    and lastly i love that sunset pic…stunning

  2. Glad to hear the two of you had a wonderful time. Great to see you found a few treasures.

  3. Welcome home. Sounds like you had a perfect getaway with Janine:) yummmm…lollies!

  4. yep, definitely a few treasures in amongst that lot … and creating and classes … totally jealous.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

