• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • August 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

New things to play with …

Last weekend I visited Dunkleys craft show with Janine … not a show I usually go to as I get frustrated with paying the entrance fee and then finding half the stands are food or handcream related … those are just not the kinds of crafts I go to see. But anyway … a day out with Janine is always worth it and so I cheerfully paid for my ticket and proceeded to browse stands of licorice, nuts, flavoured peppers, fudge … oh and there was even a guy there trying to sell the books he had written and self published … cos even crafter’s need a good read …

 

There was, of course all the good stamping type places who will also be at Paper Arts in a few weeks time and a few other crafty places but the one thing that caught my attention … made me start dreaming crafty possibilities … was the Paverpol stand. I was convinced to come back on Sunday to attend a workshop and learn how to make a ‘chick on a stick’ …

This stuff is seriously fun! Much like p.v.a glue in consistency (and smell) you dip strips of fabric in it and arrange however you want it to dry … once dry it’s hard enough to go out in the garden … I think this chick will be great company for my daffodils which are not too far away from appearing in my garden.

 

The potential I am dreaming of though is more to do with scrapbooking and canvas art … and maybe doilies shaped into bowls and lightshades …

So I came home with a pot of the stuff and some teal powder colouring and even felt inclined to take the packaging off my SENZ purchases and have a play … still with a little Finnabair/Nic influence.

Loving my new distress ink colours … and also … a tag will then require a layout to go on … so I made this one.

This is one of the photos I took for the March photo a day thingy I tried. I’ve decided to amp up the photo taking for August too … not strictly sticking to the Fatmumslim list but using it as guidance and encouragement to record the everyday stuff.

Here’s some more March photos and some nice red polka dot washi tape …

I had wondered about using my August photos in the smash book I got at SENZ but I don’t think that will work … a. cos I need a printer here at home so I can quickly print the photo and use it before the moment passes and b. cos I don’t think I can do the ‘smash’ book style … having issues with starting, and it not being perfect and matching and …

Can you tell what my favourite colours are at the moment … I’m planning to use them both in my new kitchen if it ever happens … in the meantime I’m practising with them in the old kitchen … I painted the door and bought a new rubbish bin … it might be my most favourite new thing of July actually …

and my favourite new thing for August so far …

4 Responses

  1. i went to the craft fair too..got a $1 off voucher from the paper….dont know why i go….so dont think it is worth it….though did get lollies!!! yum!!!

    as for those boots…cool!!!
    and ohhhh at the new kitchen colours!!!

    glad you enjoyed senz!!!!

  2. The only time I’ve been to Dunkley’s Craft Show is with you & Megan! My only memories of it are hanging out with 2 fabulous ladies and I don’t recall anything that was for sale, LOL πŸ™‚

    LOVE your layouts, they’re awesome! And your new slippers/boots are fabulous, great colour. Makes my black ones look boring, might have to find some brightly coloured ones like yours πŸ™‚

  3. Wow those layouts are great. Looks like so much effort too – did it take you long to do so much for all the photos? Very creative.
    I love teal too and that blackboard door is fun!

  4. your creativity – well that just absolutely rocks and I truly mean that … a.w.e.s.o.m.e. Liking the idea of the blackboard on the door like that too … seeing quite a few blackboard decals around at the moment. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm …

Thanks for your thoughts ...

