• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Stars in Their Eyes – Week 1

So another Stars in Their Eyes challenge has begun at Scrappin Patch … very timely for me as I was feeling a little bored with my scrapping style.

 

The first star was Jenny Evans with her distinctive ‘black outline’ style. My plan of attack was to stock up on black cardstock, write down a list of things I thought were Jenny’s style and then create a layout using those things. I really liked the finished layout, but then I went back to Jenny’s blog to check I’d got it looking right and I noticed that one particular layout of hers looked VERY similar to the one I just made. Now the challenge is to use her style … not scraplift one of her layouts … and the layout I’d come up with might as well have been completely scraplifted. So I pulled my layout apart (thankful for undu), flipped the whole thing and changed the position of the embellishments … this is the result of that …

I liked it better before I changed it!

And then, since I had time, I decided to try again … so I made this layout …

Probably not a smart plan … because then I had the problem of deciding which layout to enter! In the end I picked the first one.

 

This week it looks like I need to drag out the glimmermist again … guess I should clear off my desk so there’s room to make a mess … might keep those bright papers out though, I think I’ll be needing them.

7 Responses

  1. They both look great! Good luck with the competition 🙂

  2. I thought you had it nailed with that first one. 🙂 Just think of all the scrapping you are going to get done if you do 2 each week!!!! LOL Good luck.

  3. Had a wee giggle at Vicki’s comment. You could end up with an album full. I do like her style of the black matting it makes everything pop. How freaky that you did a layout similar to hers, loved that you were able to change it up. Both of them are gorgeous layouts.

  4. I love the second layout. Given her choices, that might just have got a place! That’s not very helpful, huh?!sorry, lol:( have fun with this weeks one(wink).

  5. looks great! Must try it myself some time 🙂

  6. wahoooooooo love it!!! very cool!!!

  7. I like them both 😉 How are you going on Missy’s?

Thanks for your thoughts ...

