• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • February 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    26272829  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Addicted to Vintage

… it was brought to my attention last week that maybe I have a slight vintage addiction … okay, so maybe it was already obvious … given that I travelled all the way to Paris just to shop for vintage treasures … but this latest evidence was that on the very same day my children returned to school I was found having a day out treasure hunting with Janine.

It’s not that I haven’t been in a second hand shop while the kids were on holiday (in fact I found some good ones in the South Island) … but the enjoyable experience of fossicking for treasures can only truly be appreciated with a like-minded friend. Of course stopping for coffee and having a good chat are all part of the ‘right’ way to shop vintage.

Unfortunately I don’t have any photos to show you of my finds … but my favorite was a little side cabinet … currently being borer treated at Janines and destined for great things once I bring it home to paint.

I do have this photo of some of the things I brought back from Paris … this is the stuff that is yet to find a home, after I’d taken out stuff for Christmas presents and put the bigger stuff away.

The lace is all neatly folded there … it looked way more impressive when it was in a tangled mess filling a supermarket bag. I still smile at the look on the guys face when I said I wanted it all and then helped him sweep it all off the table and into the bag … that was the kind of bargain I’d hoped to find in Paris … but, as in NZ, I found you really just have to be in the right place at the right time … there’s a whole lot of luck involved in good vintage shopping no matter what country you shop in.

 

And to prove that the lace will be used … even if just a little bit at a time …

 

Oh and see that nice big spiky card holder thingy … $1 from Crockery Bob’s Annual Sale somewhere near Naseby. (One of my great South Island finds.)

And also … cards are made with my new My Favourite Things stamps and dies … thanks Sarah!

9 Responses

  1. I think you have well and truly begun the dusting off the mojo. LOL

  2. Just beautiful! Love the ‘spiky things’ great for photos:) I didn’t know you were in the S.I. – achh, I know so little!LOL

  3. Ahhhh the Paris stash….drooling. The cards look stunning and I know the recipents will love those……

  4. Hee hee hee, lucky me being a recipient of one of those cards. Love all the lace, look forward to seeing it on your works of art.

  5. very cool cards!!!
    glad you got some great bargains!!!

  6. and the other lucky recipient loves her card as well …and OMG look at that stash of yours … drooling at all that gorgeous-ness.

    I’ve often wondered about those spiky things too… they seem to be popping up everywhere … hmmmmmmmmmmmm …

  7. LOVE the Paris stash. And I had noticed that vintage thing you have going ;P

  8. Oooh! Pretty special to get a handmade card with lace all the way from Paris!

  9. These cards look wonderfull! Love it!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

