• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Another Slackers Challenge

I’ve been a bit slack on the deadline for this one … it was supposed to be last night.  I did have the layout done and photographed but didn’t quite get the blogging part done … and then, I read Heidi’s blog post and remembered I’d also suggested we do a card this time … ooops!

So … the challenge …

Seeing as we were enjoying The Colour Room so much I decided to be brave and do the super new, yet to be released challenge … hoping of course the colours wouldn’t be too tricky … and of course … they were!

And of course some of the trickiness comes from the colours I see on my computer screen are different from the colours I see when printed … it’s just as well these slacker challenges are fully flexible and squinting while tipping your head sideways is totally allowable if you need it to make the colours work for you.

So here’s what I came up with …

I wanted to use a series of photos but I didn’t have anything already printed that worked with those colours … gone are the days where I make a special trip out just to print photos, I’ll just ‘make do’ with the hundreds I already have printed, even if the colour or size are not quite perfect!

An extra instruction for this weeks challenge was to ‘think texture’ … who knows what I was thinking when I wrote that! I guess I can claim that I was definitely ‘thinking’ texture while creating but didn’t necessarily ‘plan’ texture. The background paper was that good thick textured stuff from Stampin Up … I suppose that counts … and the vintage feather provided lots of texture underneath my title and journalling … so I reckon I can tick that one off.

And then there was the card based on this sketch …

I ended up turning mine sideways when it came to putting the sentiment on …

And that’s another slackers challenge finished!

Now what Heidi?

9 Responses

  1. Love your layout and the card! Great job!

  2. Well I think for a slacker you have done outstanding. Love love love your card. And the texture in your LO is so neat

  3. I liked how you turned the card sketch on its side…and I recognize that sentiment stamp set. Cute layout and photo of you and Miss J. Loving the feathers and butterflies on there, great interpretation of the challenge.

  4. I think you nailed it and love your card.

  5. The feather is cool – but I love that text printed alphabet the best! Cool little detail.

  6. LOL – that post had me laughing! You did much better than me with the colours – well done!
    I actually totally believe ‘nurture’ is way more defining of character that ‘nature’ – but then have had to give in a little on that idea too, when I see hereditary at play in my kids…unfortunately you can’t pick which family traits they’ll pick up! (I see you opened my Xmas pressie!!heehee).

  7. i love that layout…especially the texture part!!!
    as for that card….love the word part…what set is it from???

  8. ooh-la-la – very ‘noice’ – both of them – like the slits done like that in your layout … definitely wouldn’t have thought to do it like that … love the effect.

    and your greeting on your card – fab-u-lous …

  9. Love your layout with the feather!! and the card is fab too!! Just read your “about me” tab and had to laugh when I read about trying to call your kids by their own names …. I have 3 kids too and have exactly the same problem! Even the dog gets called by the name of the previous dog ….

Thanks for your thoughts ...

