• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

The slackers challenge no. 3

Another challenge … another blog post … maybe I need to think of some other stuff to blog about on the in-between challenges days!

This time Heidi picked a tricky one … but thankfully she kept it simple by only having the one layout to complete.

So … palette #7 from The Colour Room

Light Terracotta orange
Pale dusky green
Palest mauve
Light mustard yellow

… gulp … I’m not so good at orange and yellow … not to mention purple … and all together? I had trouble finding suitable patterned paper for this one … my yellow’s a bit bright for a start … but you work with what you’ve got …

She also instructed that I pull out some old alpha’s to alter and also use chipboard. Parts of old alphabets … I have lots of those … mostly all without their “a,e,i,o,u’s” … so the biggest part of my altering was to cut bits off here and there to create the letters I needed out of the random letters and numbers I had. Then I also stamped and sprayed them with glimmermist … I think that counts as being suitably altered.

The other instruction was to use chipboard … although, technically I’d done that with the chipboard alphabet I thought I’d better put some more in there too … it’s at this point that I wish I had some dusty attic or twiddleybitz chipboard pieces … I went with some Maya Rd scrolls that have obviously been sitting around since the old days … practically vintage!

I almost feel like a real scrapbooker again … getting these photos scrapped and the story told … this is a good thing.

It also makes me realise that I need to get my camera out more … and take more photos … the kids are growing and changing so fast.

8 Responses

  1. very cool layout…i love the map like paper you have used underneath!!! very cool!! as are the numbers..!!! Great challenge!!

  2. I think you are both doing great for slackers especially after seeing Heidi work on her one yesterday. She sure didn’t make things easy for you this time round. Fantastic layout.

  3. Fantastic job!!

  4. sweet! I love purple, but hate working with it – gives me hives lol

  5. Fantastic! I love your version – you have made a great job with your title – and you’ve even done the bow!WTG!
    mines up now…

  6. your embellishment cluster looks fabulous and I spied the ribbon/lace as well … very ‘noice’. Using your stash is good – means you are going to have to replace it, one day!!!!

  7. lol well I am being a slacker by commenting way later than everyone else. Wow, that was a tough challenge but I like the result…..funny how we struggle with certain colours and yet on the other hand have no problems with others. Like how you got creative and stamped those numbers and I like the map background.

  8. Love what you have done with this colour scheme Beverley. You definately haven’t lost your scrapbooking touch.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

