• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • April 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

The Slackers Scrapbooking Challenge No.2

… Epic Fail on my part!

It was my turn to set the challenge, it was my turn to set the deadline … as I did, I knew it would be tight … making a deadline on a Wednesday in the middle of school holidays was just asking for trouble … but I figured with Easter weekend in between I should have no problem. I knew I’d be busy working more than usual, juggling the kids more than usual … what I didn’t count on was the extra disruption a nasty little cold takes … yes … I have excuses for being slack!

Anyway, I did manage to get the layouts done by midnight Wednesday … I just had difficulty in the taking photos and blogging about it part.

The first layout was based on this colour combo/sketch from the colour room again.

And my layout …

I had to spin the sketch to work with the photo I wanted to use.

I’ve scrapped this photo of our house before but I wanted to use it again to record the current journey we’re going on … the kids are getting bigger and we need more space. So life in the last few weeks has also involved real estate agents and open homes and all those fun things. But as I wrote in my journalling on the layout … each time we came home from looking at other houses our own house looked even better, so we’ve decided to renovate a bit to give us the extra room we need.

And the next layout challenge was inspired by a Moxie Fab Challenge … using cameos.

Oh and I added an extra little twist to the challenges … to use something newly bought or at least a packet newly opened … in this world of ‘using your stash’ I’m finding that I don’t get around to buying lovely new stuff very often. (Some might say that’s a good thing) If I use new things in my scrapping, it’s generally for a class layout at the shop or it’s a small sampling that one of my lovely blogging friends has sent me … I thought it would be a nice treat to actually go and shop for something new … also … I thought this would be a good insurance for me … that I wouldn’t be able to leave the challenge till the last minute … I’d have to at least pre-plan the purchase of something suitable to include on my layouts. … sadly …. I failed on this part of the challenge too! The only ‘new’ thing I’ve used on these layouts is the new printer cartridge I bought which meant I could print out the silhouettes … does that count?

And that’s that … challenge completed … just late!

So Heidi … you win … next challenge is yours to set.

5 Responses

  1. oh beverly i love the colours chosen!!!
    and YAH for the chance to update and change your home!!!! how fun!!

  2. Beautiful layouts – all the best with the upcoming renovations.

  3. and so … ‘renovate’ … what are you planning ? and is this before or after Paris ?

    Now it’s a bit sad my friend to count a printer cartridge as a new purchase – come on, you can do better than that!

  4. I am giggling over the printer cartridge being your new product!hahahahahahahahahaha…
    No failure though, you got it done:)
    I’ll have to put my thinking cap on for the next one…thanks for playing along:)
    Hope you’re over your cold now.

  5. As soon as I saw this challenge on Heidi’s blog I was thinking “your fav colour combo”. Seems to be you didn’t fail cos you still produced a layout….like the mini cameos….but did laugh at your new purchase….

    I think its great that you recorded the last months house search……sometimes you don’t know what you have until you start looking.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

