• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Live

A lot has happened since I last wrote here … both in a personal sense and a national disaster sense.

 

I’m really not sure just what to say about the Christchurch Earthquake … to not mention it seems wrong, uncaring perhaps … yet having not lived through it personally leaves me under qualified to say very much at all really. There are a lot of ‘cliche’ comments that could be applied yet none of them seem appropriate today. Certainly I am glad that my very special Christchurch friends are all okay … yet reading on their blogs just what they have gone through shows it’s not just as simple as having survived … their everyday ‘normal’ has forever changed … and that is just not nice.

 

In many ways the quake has been a good reminder to me of my word for this year.

Live today because you don’t know what will happen tomorrow. Life can not be taken for granted.

 

And I guess that brings me to my big goal for 2011 … see that Eiffel tower hanging from the red ribbon above … and the Eiffel tower I squeezed onto my ‘live’ layout below …

Those things were put there early January as I worked through my goals for the year … at that stage Paris was just a far off dream, a symbol, perhaps, of some form of travel, a holiday overseas maybe later in the year … echoed by the thoughts of my husband when he gave me a suitcase charm for my pandora bracelet on Christmas morning. But that little suitcase also has a teeny tiny Eiffel tower on it and it represents my ultimate dream holiday place … I wanna go to France!

So … with that in my mind … when our friends, Raymond and Michelle announced that they were going to live and work in Paris for a year or so … my natural response was to jump up and say I’m coming too! Of course I can’t go live there with them … but I could certainly come for a holiday … two weeks in Paris sounds like absolute bliss to me.

 

Yes, there are small details like finance, kids and that sort of stuff that need solving and in the past those things would be enough to make this just a dream and not a reality … but those things are not going to stop me ‘living’ this year … somehow those details will resolve themselves and come November I’ll be at the top of the Eiffel tower for real!

The wall in my lounge has taken on a bit of a ‘French’ theme lately … a good reminder of my goals as I work towards losing weight and gaining finances!

 

And everywhere I look there are reminders and more encouragement to make this happen …

Yep … it’s even in my coffee!

 

So that’s my big goal for the year …

… I’m going to Paris!

 

Of course … having learned from the Earthquake and knowing that life can sometimes change suddenly … let me just add … ‘probably’ to that.

12 Responses

  1. Wow, what a goal. Go for it and like you said “Live today because you don’t know what will happen tomorrow”. It is just so true.

  2. HOW EXCITING! I know you will have a blast, Paris is such a fantastic city! As well as the Effiel Tower, you should go to a show at Moulin Rouge, a cruise along the Seine, visit the Louvre and have coffee at one of the many cafes along the Champs Elysees! And if you have a spare day a trip out to the Palace of Versailles is also a must – it is BEAUTIFUL! Oh I want to go back again … might have to start saving again myself! πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow, that’s very exciting! Paris! I hope you do get to go and realise your dream and goal!

  4. omg…you’re going to Paris!! I love it! don’t wait – just go!so excited for you:)

  5. oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
    I so want to go to France.
    An awesomely awesome thing for you πŸ™‚ Yay!

  6. And you will get there too……love how you have made the wall a focus and like you said all things French and Paris are leaping out at you.

  7. Awesome Bev!!!!! You will only need a one way ticket I reckon – you’ll totally love the place. And to be fair, you’ll probably see more of it than I did!! πŸ™‚

  8. Having stood on the eiffel tower and been mesmerised by the view i hope your dream for November comes to fruition….It is gorgeous and so worth seeing…. Good luck Beverley!

  9. hey give it a few months and maybe we could have a cupcake making class as a fundraiser for you to GET to Paris!!!!
    i;d come!!!!

    parlez vous francais???

  10. How wonderful for you Bev,,,,, it is a wonderful place to visit….. just hearing you write about it makes me want to go back. Think I need a new travel goal too. Probably won’t happen this year, but hopefully we might be able to make it have the following one.

  11. OMG green jelly here … it’s way up there on my wish list to my friend … and it will happen for me too … you are gonna have to share all the details tho first!!!

  12. You go girl! Your post was an inspiration, because yes life can change in an instance and we must make the most of every moment. You must go to Paris, believe and it will happen.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

