• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

More Cake Decorating …

… this time of the paper kind.

One of my current favourite paper craft inspirational blogs I follow is Paper Crave. A few days before Christmas, in the blur that was all things festive, I saw this post on Paper Crave. Hello … another inspiring blog to follow …  Tracey is amazing! I loved what I saw but had no time to give it the attention it deserved … so I saved the picture to my desktop / inspiration board and there it sat while Christmas happened. As with all good inspiration … the idea moved in to my head and I began dreaming paper wedding cakes … and then of course I just had to pick up paper and glue and play.

To put it in perspective … this is a full sized (huge) wedding cake … the cake board at the bottom measures 14 inches in diameter, each layer is around 4 inches high.  I gave myself a few ‘design’ requirements … the cake needs to pack up small enough to transport … so each layer fits inside the next (just like a child’s stacking cups) … and I wanted to keep the colour mostly white and cream … it had to fit in with the black and white theme we had going on at the last wedding show but still be a step towards adding a little colour.

The flowers are all handmade … some are the spiral sort (that’s another cool blog I follow by the way) and some are paper roses made from flat sizzix flowers. Only I used a slightly different sizzix die. I’m not sure exactly how many flowers I used but it was lots!

I like playing paper weddings 🙂

9 Responses

  1. totally gorgeous! I love this so much more than fabric cakes, it looks a lot more realistic – how sore were your hands after rolling all the flowers?! I made a bunch once and couldn’t do any crafting for days lol

  2. WOW!! Stunning!

  3. wow you are AMAZING!!! this is stunning!!!
    you ARE such a clever lady!!!

  4. That is a stunning cake Bev and all I can think of is how much more calorie friendly it is compared to a real one 🙂 cos seroiusly your cake looks so life like…..amazing job my friend.

  5. I dream of cake too…

  6. Right, off to check out those blogs…(and with a name like Tracey, of course she’ll be talented ROFLMAO!!!!!)

  7. oh wow … that would be OMG … WOW!!!!!

  8. Totally amazing Bev, just LOVE your paper wedding cake. I’m off to check out some of your links too. Always love coming to vist, always leave your blog inspired by your creativity.

  9. Hey Bev have just been over to check out the original one you got your ideas from, and I have to say, you cake has definately outshone it. Just gobsmacked with how beautiful you have made it.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

