• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • February 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

The Party

So we had a bit of a red and white theme going on … I’m glad she went for it because I’ve been collecting red and white bits and pieces for a while now. So lots of red and white food … the drink bottles were an idea I picked up from Rachel Tucker. The red and white straws were a perfect find from living and giving.

The cupcake cake was a last minute decision … well, actually a last minute remembering on Jessi’s part. Apparently I’d promised that she could have a cupcake cake for her next birthday (I think I vaguely remember saying this a year ago) so we hired the tin. I used a red velvet cake recipe and had enough left over to make a million cupcakes as well … which turned out to be a good thing because it was easier to send the kids home with a cupcake instead of a slice of cake and it also meant the cake was still good for the ‘family’ party which happened later that evening.

We also had a sock monkey side to the proceedings … Jessi wanted to share our recent sock monkey love with all her friends. So, before the party I sewed up some red and white sock monkey bodies, pieced together with a variety of striped, spotted and plain socks. Then the party kids got to stuff them, sew up the hole in the bottom and stitch on the eyes. It was admittedly quite ambitious  for a bunch of 7 year olds … given that they are tricky little things to stuff but I think they did an okay job and I was impressed with their sewing too. (And very thankful that Maya’s mum stayed to help!) Unfortunately I forgot to get a group photo of all the monkeys but they generally looked like the two below with wonky arms and crazy ears … lots of  character I suppose you could say!

 

I think I’ve done my dash with sock monkeys for now and will leave it up to the professionals in the future!

 

We kinda ran out of time for all the games she had wanted to play but we managed pass the parcel, pin the tail on the monkey, a treasure hunt and the flour game.

 

And that was about it … I didn’t manage to get any photos of the decorations so here’s one I just took …

… haven’t taken them down yet!

 

We had lots of these lanterns hanging above the party table and in the lounge … I became a bit obsessed with collecting these … so we had heaps! We also pulled out the toadstool cushions from last years party and the red table cloth was an incredible last minute find from the Salvation Army shop … just perfect!

So that’s it … 7 years old has officially been celebrated.

 

9 Responses

  1. Looks like a fun day! woohoo for the cake doing double duty, and I totally love the lanterns!

  2. honestly….you should GO INTO business…..people would PAY for your parties!!!

  3. those monkeys were so cute. Love the red and white theme looked very cool and that cake looked so impressive….

  4. What a cool party! Love the sock monkey idea, I bet the girls were very happy to take one of those home 🙂 The laterns are SO cool, a great colour scheme.

  5. Sounds like an awesome party hun!

  6. Wow, you always do such cool parties – next time I wanna invite!! I bet the kids loved the sock monkeys! And I love that cake!mmmmm….

  7. Boy, those monkey’s are way too cute.

  8. Looks like an amazing party … another great job!

  9. and I’m sure that little Miss J will be thinking ahead to birthday number 8 already … hold on tight …

Thanks for your thoughts ...

