• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • December 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

A belated Merry Christmas to You!

So … all that is left of Christmas 2010 is discarded wrappers in a roses box, lots of leftovers in the fridge and a really large trampoline squashed into our small backyard! Okay … so looking around, there may be a little bit more evidence of a great Christmas had at our house but I think that sums up the main things.

The lead up to Christmas was in many ways kinda busy (what’s new) but I still managed one or two handmade gifts … unfortunately I didn’t take photos of everything I made and wrapped up. I did get one or two of  this little monkey though, he was for my nephew Liam … it came from a kit I bought at Craft 2.0 from Miss Millie … she makes the most amazing sock monkeys … I need a little more practice I’m thinking.

Jessi asked me to make her one too, she even found me a pair of old tights to use … I really liked the idea of being able to reuse her favourite old tights in this way … they even already had a hole in the heel just perfect for the tail.

Other things on the handmade list included more sewing … little pouches and bags, lots of jewelery and some cuff links (mahjong tiles are fun to play with), a tea cup bird feeder, notebooks …  I had a million more ideas that I simply didn’t have time to try, so they’re back on the bookmarks list for another day.

I have a few ‘year in review’ type posts planned for the next few days, trying to fill in the gaps of a busy year. To be honest, there’s not a lot of photos to show for 2010, I’ve been busy, done heaps but not taken the photos along the way … it’s a good thing I wasn’t trying to do Project Life huh?

 

I’ve also been thinking about my new ‘word for the year’ … I’ve had a great ‘Me’ year and learned a lot along the way … so now I’m considering how I can take that into 2011 with all that it promises … more on that subject later.

 

I’ll leave you with this photo of my vintage Christmas crackers … Christmas had quite a strong ‘vintage’ look to it this year … not surprising I guess!

6 Responses

  1. i love the idea of using old stockings to make those sock monkeys!!! seen something similar done with old jerseys and gloves!!!!

    glad you had a good christmas break!!!

  2. Merry Christmas to you too hon – I love those sock monkeys – very cool!

  3. Love the sock monkeys, everyone seems sock monkey mad at the moment, good job! 🙂
    I’ve never done a word of the year but might be a good idea, look forward to hearing what your 2011 word is 🙂

  4. Merry Christmas to you and the family, Beverley … sounds like you had a great one!
    LOVE those monkeys! Adorable!!

  5. Love those Christmas crackers …

    I’ve missed your creativity and your blogging … may 2011 be a good one for you and yours!

  6. Awesome sock monkeys Beverley! 100 times better than my first attempt. Millie x

Thanks for your thoughts ...

