• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • August 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Introducing …

… Lily-Antoinette.


And behind her, Henry … once known as Henrietta.

Thank you for all your name suggestions. There are so many lovely names out there … I think I may have to collect dress forms so that I can use more names! I was still unsure of her name on Tuesday when I began dressing her, then out of the blue I got an e-mail from Mrs Frizz titled ‘naming rights’ and beginning with ‘I’ve been thinking …’ Made me smile to think that my blogging buddies care so much about my new body. Anyway … Mrs Frizz (and I agreed) thought it should be a hyphenated name because those sort always sound classier. She gave me a few suggestions and that’s where Antoinette came from. The Lily part was actually Jessi … she’s been calling her Lily for a while now but I was hesitant because it didn’t quite have the touch of class I was after. But Lily-Antoinette … now that’s classy.

Anyway, here’s a close up of her flower spray.

And the bottom of her dress …

She’s wearing a simple dress, made from an old pattern and accented with a touch of black. She has vintage buttons holding her belt together in the back and the words on the band at the top of her dress say ‘dictionary of sewing terms’ … so it seemed fitting to drape a vintage measuring tape around her neck to go with her pearls.

This is Grandma’s sewing table set up next to her.

And here she is as I left her in the Craft House display at the Wellington Women’s Lifestyle Expo which is on this weekend.

If you’re a local feel free to come by and meet her in person. We are also offering a free make’n’take on the stand and at 1pm each day I will be doing a 15min mini class on paper flowers just like the ones that Lily-Antoinette is wearing.

So … a busy weekend ahead of me …

8 Responses

  1. awww not fair I wish I could just pop down for a flower making class with you. I don’t suppose you will be having one at Craft House late in August?
    btw – Lily-Antoinette is the perfect name for such a beautiful ‘body’ you are oozing creativity Beverley!

  2. Very classy indeed. Have fun at the expo.

  3. Henry and Lillie look fantastic, hope the recovering of Lillie turned out to be easy, her dress is fantastic. Am asking the Lord to be with you especially around 1pm

  4. busy alright,,,,,love the creation..stunning

  5. Stunning Beverley! You have a real talent with the vintagey style of creating! Wish I could come see that exhibit in person!

  6. Bonjour Lily-Antoinette … she is looking totally a-la-fabulous!!!! [tres bien].

    She truly does look fabulous and may she enjoy her outing and you too for that matter.

    Look at that treadle … woo hoo!

  7. Miss Lily – Antoinette looks very regal in her surroundings – here’s hoping she, along with you have a fantastic weekend!

  8. Noice!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

