• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • July 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Hi …

it’s been a while!

In case you were wondering … yes, I’m still here … just not so much here in front of the computer. So much has happened since we last spoke it’s hard to know where to begin … there was the rest of the holidays, glow in the dark mini golf, a half marathon, Alexander’s delayed return given the fog at Christchurch airport – allowing him an extra night in an Invercargill motel, Mum and Dad visiting, Dad’s 65th birthday,  a French antique sale – oh my! … the making of imaginary friends into real ones – ie. coffee with Penny, the hunt for a new body (dress form) and a little bit of scrapping thrown in for good measure.

So … photos …

Remember those buttons from one of my vintage treasure finding missions … the ones featuring in my header actually … I finally made them into flower centres.

Then … while we’re thinking flowers …

This is something I’m currently working on … actually what you see is the chest of my ‘new’ antique dress form. I can’t introduce you to her just yet because she’s not suitably dressed and she doesn’t have a name. Maybe you could help me out there … it must be a pretty, French sounding name …?

And now some scrapping … I’ve been playing along with the girls at Scrappin’ Patch in their ‘Stars in their Eyes’ competition. The idea being that you scrap in the style of the famous scrapper featured for the week.

The first was my Steph Devlin layout:

Had stars in my eyes actually when she took the time to leave a comment here on my blog last week … such a lovely person!

Then there was Ingvild Bolme … one of my most favourite famous scrappers.

And I was very surprised and privileged to get 2nd place for this layout and a special comment about it from Ingvild.

She said: This is truly a beautiful page, love your use of negative and airy spots.
You choosed colors that I really love, and you did put it all together in a way that made the most stunning page! I really like how you choosed to embellish in some spots to create the most beautiful and inspiring cluster areas, and then left some spaces totally open to let our eyes rest on.. I can also recognize the paper edges; all over a really well done page!
(She’s Norwegian!)  Of course the comment about my negative and airy spots made me smile because we all know I like to well and truly fill up a page … leaving white space is a difficult thing for me to do!

And then this week we scrapped like Elizabeth Kartchner.

Unfortunately … leaving this till the last day meant I didn’t have enough time to go out and buy plain cardstock, dear lizzy products and a martha stewart butterfly punch … I had to handcut that butterfly myself … and the little flags too … and that square of white cardstock in the middle … that was my last bit … seriously … it’s time I went shopping!

I must also say a big Thank You to Mrs Frizz and Mandy … both of whom have given me stuff … good stuff … scrapping supplies … lately. And of course they have come into good use already.

Right, this post has taken ages longer than I anticipated to write … my computer is struggling to keep up tonight … I’m guessing it has something to do with the 101 tabs I have open in Firefox. Many of them are blogs I’ve been meaning to comment on – sorry if yours is one, some are french vintage inspiration pictures for my current obsession and many are yummy new products being released at CHA that I simply must take time to drool over. Have you seen Parisian Anthology? … sigh!

9 Responses

  1. Madeline…like the book lol! Loving those flowers you super talented woman.

  2. love those flowers and yes those layouts are fabbo!!! as for the dress form….evelyn???

  3. I like the sound of Chérie said in your best french accent. What do ya think? =)

  4. I agree with Trace – Madeline!!

    I’ve really loved seeing your layouts for the Stars comp each week, they are all incredible! Thanks for playing along 🙂

  5. How did the party go? Did you decide on a pressie in the end?

    Great layouts and flowers look cool One day I am going to make some felted ones.

    Hmmm… French names… how about Yvette? or Mimi? or Coco?

  6. funny – I’ve been looking for a new body too ….. ROFL

  7. Love the use of your vintage buttons to make those lovely yummy flowers. Great layouts Bev, you really are very talented. Love checking out your blog and seeing all your beautiful work.

  8. ewwwwwwwh!!! Not fair – you’re flowers are way better then mine … crikey

    Still thinking of a name …

  9. If your beautiful dress form is going be covered in flowers and you’re searching for a pretty french name, how about Fleur?

Thanks for your thoughts ...

