• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • June 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Winter

In the last 15 mins I have seen thick fog … the eerie kind that makes it hard to see anything further than the letterbox, a shower of rain … hard enough to soak the kids as they walked from the car to school without their jackets because they somehow left them at school yesterday … and now, I see blue sky and the sun shining. Welcome to winter I guess!

I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of creating lately but not so much sharing … lets try to fix that huh?

First up … scones, cheese scones.

Yeah, not arty at all but still creating. A while ago Janine suggested the recipe in the ‘Ladies a Plate’ cookbook for cheese scones. Well, I had a need for cheese scones to eat with my soup the other night so I called Mum and got the recipe. Of course I didn’t have half the ingredients required (including the very basic baking powder) so I had to change things a bit but they still worked out great. So for the record I used … 2 cups of flour, the last little dregs of baking powder I found in the bottom of the container – maybe a teaspoon, 1 tsp baking soda and 2 tsp cream of tatar (to make up for the lack of baking powder) … I was good and actually sifted all that – it probably makes a huge difference but often I can’t be bothered! Then I added 2 cups of grated tasty cheese and half a cup of milk (the recipe called for cream but I don’t have cream sitting around just waiting to be used, the best I had was light blue top milk) Then I mixed 1/4 cup of milk and 3/4 cup of boiling water and added this to the scone mix until it looked about right (didn’t need to use all of this milk/water mix) I put handfuls of this mixture on a baking tray lined with baking paper and cooked in a hot oven until they looked done. Will be making these again I think now that winter is here and the need for cheese scones will occur more often.

Now, other creating …

This layout was done just using some scraps I  had sitting out on my desk. I’m trying to use up bits and pieces, the last embellishments in the pack, that sort of thing … in the hope that I might be able to reduce the amount of stuff I have … of course I then go and buy more – so I don’t think I’m winning in that game!

This one … was inspired by Stacy Cohen she’s one of my favourites on my google reader list at the moment … so inspiring.

And this … is the latest vintage/heritage layout class I taught. Graphic 45 papers, some vintage bingo cards and an old cigarette card … I managed to find vintage car cigarette cards for the class packs which looked even better.

Okay … time to go do something useful. Enjoy your day …

8 Responses

  1. I love the Our Life page…and quote! Awesome work and WTG on using up scraps!…And yum to the cheese scones. I know what you mean about the sifting…I can never be bothered either. Your scones turned out great considering the lack of BP. Have a great day!

  2. LOVE cheese scones!!! Now what did you do to the edges of the paper in Be Brave. Very cool.

  3. LOL okay I love to sift lol and I am glad you liked them. I went for a walk yesterday in that weather and it was amazing at the top of Salford it was pea soup, by the time I came down Ruskin it had cleared again. Oh I love the last layout- perfect is stunning, loving the vintage layouts you are doing.

  4. Those cheese scones look yummy – think they might go onto my too bake list. Thanks for the link to Stacey Cohen’s blog – can understand why she is one of your favourites. I have been drooling my way through her blog – and thinking WOW.

  5. mmm scones.
    I really like the Be Brave LO 😉

  6. oh what I’d do for a cheese scone right NOW! lol

    great layouts

  7. I so need a hot cheese scone now LOL. You’re such a bad influence Miss Beverley lol. Love those layouts my talented friend.

  8. I met your aunt on Saturday at her shop in Levin. She was so lovely and friendly to us; not like the woman in Sister Act in Waikanae ….. and we spent appropriately!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

