• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

I’ve been scrapping …

So … if I can crochet a fancy edge on a straight piece of paper … I should be able to crochet round a circle right?

042

Well … that’s what I thought anyway.

040

I put this layout together on Friday night at our monthly crop … was a little bit distracted chatting with/helping friends with their projects … but, given that I was also feeling totally uncreative … I’m okay with how this came together. A mix of basic grey and stampin’ up papers.

So if I can crochet in straight lines, and around curves … it must be possible to crochet swirl embellishments too right?

025-2

Looks a bit odd in this pic … I think it’s the placement of the flower that makes it look weird.

014-2

But anyway … it’s possible! This is my version of the prima build a page sketch … hence all the prima products.

Had a bit of fun with this layout … not long ago I discovered water soluble pastels, they go on with all the satisfaction of drawing with pastels and then they turn into paint with a wet brush … just like watercolour pencils – only waaaay better!  Also coloured the letters with them. The ‘blossom’ flowers are just flat white prima flowers which I layered, glimmermisted and scrunched while they were still wet.

And then I thought it was about time I played with these new Stampin’ Up papers. This layout came together really quickly … and surprisingly … I was okay with keeping it simple.

061

Love these textured papers … and it’s a good thing you get two of each design in the pack … cos the other sides are gorgeous (just not suitable for a boy layout)!

063

And there’s more … but I can’t share them just yet. ;o)

Feels good to be creating again!

my signature

14 Responses

  1. love how that bubble one turned out…. very cool colours used… loving your work!!

  2. Love your crochet on the layouts – sure is thinking outside the square. Hadn’t heard of the pastels either. Lovely layouts.

  3. I admire your crochet skills! Great work.

  4. Well done Beverley. You’re sure rocking with all that crochet work! love the ‘wish upon a bubble’ LO – pretty darn dood, considering you were distracted and all!LOL

  5. loving the crocheting….go you on going around in corners. All beautiful, I like she is ten. Like the effect of the water soluble pastels.

  6. And I love what you have done Bev – I love how you have incorporated your crocheting into your layouts. Beautiful beautiful work – always inspiring.

  7. Awesome stuff Beverley. Love how you are adding crochet to your work. Very cool.

  8. LOVE IT. You are very clever, I think the crocheting looks amazing, especially the round circle one! Gorgeous layouts, all of ’em.

  9. The crochet is fantastic. Great thinking away from the norm, I love how you often come up with something I have never seen before! Thanks for sharing.

  10. I think someone has a crochet bug going on there LOL and you are rocking it !! I LOVE all your layouts but the random one is my fav, I love the colours and what a fab way of using photos that are……..random LOL

    xoxo

  11. Ok, so I have to learn to crochet; I love that crochet circle on your layout, it’s very very cool! I saw the closeup shot of your layout for the Prima BAP in their gallery, but I couldn’t find the whole shot, by the way.. maybe I’m just blind??

  12. hi thanks for the layout with stampin up papers i have ordered them so you just gave me some good ideas and pleased i did order them

  13. Found you via Heidi – wow your work is awesome! Your scrapping rocks girl…

  14. Just love your work, and the crochet mmmm! Bags sit by you at Scrap Camp next year…hope you are coming south again.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

