• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • August 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

When Scrapbooking Met Crochet

It was only a matter of time …

011

When I first set out to master the art of crochet my motivation was to make my own little crochet flowers for my layouts and cards … with that achieved I had to move on to bigger crochet goals. I wanted a fancy lacy look for this layout, so I used the holes made by my Fiskars threading water border punch to add a crochet frilly border.

003

Totally excited about how it worked … and the potential for a similar but different look just by changing the wool/cotton and size of the hook used.

(Thought I should do a layout about the ‘new’ pink boots before I do a layout about the now ‘old’ pink boots!)

I’ve also been expanding those crochet skills into the realm of cupcakes … am I predictable?

023

Maybe just a little bit.

022

So yeah … I’ve been scrapping and creating a bit this week … and it feels good. Haven’t got photos of the other layouts though so don’t have pics to share sorry.

And a catch up on stuff I’ve created for Craft House

but keep forgetting to take pics of … pinched these of the website …

Canvas Characters tn

These are my canvas people … one of the new holiday craft classes … a bit of paint, a bit of pastel, a bit of stamping, a few words … you can probably see a bit of Donna Downey influence in there …. ‘specially with the word thing … only I’m cutting up an Enid Blyton story book and she uses hot and steamy romance novels!

Chipboard Wallhangings tn

Chipboard wall hangings … this was a project I made for Rebekah’s birthday party … yay for the Enid Blyton book again … and Fancy Pants Biggest Board Chipboard.

And then there’s the projects I’ve made for kits … these can be seen (and purchased) here. Not all of those are mine … but you can probably pick the ones that are.

Off to enjoy high tea this afternoon … to celebrate an 80th birthday. Hope your weekend is going well.

my signature

10 Responses

  1. Love your added crochet border, and the cupcake….very clever!!!
    🙂

  2. very clever chickee…… love the look of the crochet on the layout… look forward to more show and tells

  3. Fabulous!! The crochet flowers are great (I have some that I bought from a craft shop, thinking they would be great on a layout … and not knowing how to make them myself). But the crochet border is genius! I love it 🙂

  4. oohh – clever ideas 🙂
    …and you know – I dont think I’ve seen it anwhere else!!

  5. Oh you are just Too clever!! Love it. And that cupcake looks sooooo edible! Did you devise the pattern yourself??

  6. Love the idea of a crochet edge – just might have to give that one a go. As for the Enid Blyton book – they were my favourites and not sure if I could bring myself to cutting one up. LOL

  7. I am super-impressed that you have learnt to crochet -it is not something I can do! I just love that cute little crocheted cupcake!

  8. oh way cool! 🙂

  9. That cupcake was cute, and cool idea adding the crochet boarder there…..I think I want some pink boots now lol

  10. So cute! I’ve always wanted to crochet my own flowers, and I love the look of that border. I just might have to learn now…

Thanks for your thoughts ...

