• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

So…

the cupcake crop went well.

I made cupcakes. (Surprise!)

053

Royal cupcakes … cos it’s Queens Birthday and all.

055

I embossed the crowns using a cuttlebug embossing folder and then curved them over the handle of a wooden spoon.

I also made a couple of cupcake layouts as inspiration for the day.

015

This one was from an idea found on You Tube.

017

Except I cheated and just used kindy glitz over the alcohol inks instead of dimensional magic and glitter. Those swirly stamps … are ones I won from Chris a while ago …. love, love, love how they stamp … so nice!

I also made another layout … more in line with my current favourite techniques.

069

The swirls are basic grey rubons which I put onto transparency and then cut out … made it easy to move them around and put them over several layers.

So besides demonstrating alcohol inks yesterday I also had time to do some creating. I started with the Up 2 Scrap trend sketch for this month.

063

It had to be a not square page so I used another shaped paper to trace around onto my basic grey paper. Jessi seriously does like to dress up like this for school. In fact we had tears in the car on the way to school this week because she’d forgotten to put on her lipstick and we were too late to go back for it … I don’t know where she gets it from … it’s so not me!

The cold, wet weather everyone was talking about has arrived today. It was seriously snowing at our place a few moments ago … not enough to settle on the ground but it was definitely floating around in the air. Earlier in the week the view from my house looked like this:

002

and this:

003

Not so fun living in the clouds!

Hope your long weekend is going well for you.

my signature

12 Responses

  1. Wow, really snowing??! … we have cold and weak sunshine here in ChCh…mmmmm … cupcakes ….

  2. Okay – totally jealous – those cupcakes looks sensational!!!

    Gorgeous layouts … and that weather … yep, you can keep it … no thanks …

  3. Ugh – I was soooo hoping I was going to get to go to that yesterday, but a rugby tournament put paid to those plans. And I see what I really missed out on!!! We tried to find the snow on the Rimutakas this morning – there was a bit of bulky snow sitting around the summit, just enough to throw around a bit, but not as much as we were hoping to find. Still, it’s only May!

  4. Oh my gosh those cup cakes look devine. Love the icing. Yummy!!!

  5. wow those cupcakes look yummo… wish I could have gone,,,,, we also got the snow too… and it did stay on the ground for a while…..

  6. Mmm, mmm, gorgeous looking cupcakes and gorgeous looking layouts! ANd you know I have done the same thing to that exact piece of Basic Grey! But not for the up2scrap challenge, just for myself, LOL.

  7. I want to come to your crops! We don’t get cupcakes at ours LOL

  8. yummy – I might have to make some cupcakes tomorrow now – LOL! No seriously can you please email the recipe for those choc ones you made for scrapcamp – and icing one too – they were so much more yummy than the ones I make!
    I had a giggle at those pics of the cloud/fog – I tokk the exact same pics earlier in the week here. Was very foggy on the way to school/kindy, very spooky but very beautiful so I went home got the camera then back to a nearby park and took some shots.

  9. Crikey, looks like your got the weather much rougher than we did! Fab layouts, and I still have memories of those delish cupcakes at the crop when SENZ was on….yummy!

  10. Oh, what gorgeous and yummy looking cupcakes!! I could KILL one of them right now!
    Love all the beautiful layouts, too. Especially the one about Jessi and her dressing up. She’s lucky she doesn’t have a school uniform which would prevent her from doing that 🙂
    WOW at the view from your house – brrrr!!!

  11. Awesome cupcakes! and LO too – you are excelling yourself Beverley.

  12. Those stamps look awesome Bev!!! Glad they came in handy!!!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

