• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

High Tea in Wellington

Gotta tell you about this fab place I went to last week.

013

Martha’s Pantry is a fantastic little cafe at the end of Cuba St in Wellington, that serves high tea in the most perfect way.

017

018

Fancy looking china teapots with cute knitted tea cosies. Tea strainers … because the best tea is made with loose leaves.

026

This was the best cup (or 10) of green tea that I’ve ever had. I’m not generally a tea drinker … a good strong coffee is more my thing but this was high tea and coffee doesn’t come in tea pots … and it was good tea.

019-1

And there was food … lots of food. Our high tea experience started out as an early morning tea but it did me for lunch and afternoon tea too … good value really … and they even offered to pack up the stuff we didn’t eat in a box for us to take away. (No we didn’t take them up on that option.)

025

And then, if that wasn’t enough there was lots of very cool handcrafted things for sale. A few minutes of studying these shelves filled me with all sorts of inspiration to make stuff … crocheted flowers on hairclips, funky little pencil cases and bags, flower brooches made with ribbon and fabric and other such scrapbooking supplies. Oh and the aprons were very, very cool … just like the ladies were wearing behind the counter … only cleaner. So a perfect little housewife apron is also on my list of possible sewing projects … should I ever stop scrapping long enough to work through the list.

Do you think it would be wrong if I went and had high tea every week?

my signature

19 Responses

  1. how elegant! Certainly could be nothing wrong with doing that regularly 😉

  2. it all looks very delicious!

  3. oohh beverley it looks wonderful. We have a place just like that here in Napier. I take my mum there every time she comes to visit. We love it. The girls request to go there for special occasions !!

  4. oh wow… no I don’t think its wrong at all to have it weekly. Is it wrong to book a flight from AKL to Welly for the day just for high tea?

  5. I think its a done deal – if only for some crafty inspiration!! Very nice.

  6. Oh boy, another reason to visit Wellington. It looks amazing, there is a very cool old fashioned “tea-rooms” in the historical area of Oamaru that I love…bit far to drive for a cuppa though LOL

  7. Next time I am in Wellington the 2 of us MUST go to this place! Okay? 🙂

  8. Oh that’s awesome! 🙂 wish we had something like that up here.

  9. Wrong no. Costly, yes! Life is way too short not to enjoy such indulgences – you go girl!

  10. Looks so good Bev, – I think I could be very tempted to make it a regular occurance also. Your photos of it are gorgeous.

  11. Almost a must really … what about once a month?????LOL

  12. Gosh that looks wonderful, love the tiered rack they have used!! So wish someone would have something like that here!!!

  13. Nope – definitely not wrong at all … laughed out loud at your comment on the aprons … I was admiring the fabric on the apron that your ‘server’ of your high tea was wearing. Lots of gorgeous wee nik naks on the shelves.

  14. And here was I thinking I knew all the cool places in Wellington – what fun!

  15. Wow! I just happened by your blog looking for information and photos of high tea. I love this post. What a fabulous experience you had given to yourself to have tea!

  16. […] post on high tea was spot on with what I imagine high tea […]

  17. […] fancy high tea with a silver milk jug and sugar bowl … quite a contrast to the more ‘homey’ Martha’s High Tea which has more of a vintage fancy […]

  18. Does Martha’s Pantry have a website or any way of getting prices for High Tea?

    • As far as I know they don’t have a web site and it has been quite some time since I wrote this blog post so things may have changed a little. It’s probably best to give them a call on 04-385 7228 … I’m sure they’d be able to give you the details you need.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

