• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Just a quick update

The weekend seemed to fly by far too quickly.

I stayed up late on Sat night completing this layout for the Scrappin’ Patch NSD challenge.

002

Managed to use some pages from the old hymn book I picked up from a fabulous shop Mich took us to after scrap camp.

009

The kids liked the look of my prima paintables and h2o’s so they have been busy painting watercolour pictures this weekend too.

010

The challenge part was to use handwritten heartfelt journalling, flowers, felt, 5 buttons, bling, distressing and ribbon.

The photo is one I found on Friday night when I was looking through a box of old photos. This is Grandma getting ready to go out to her 80th birthday party. It’s interesting how important to me the extra things in the photo are. The way her bed looked, the glory box that she hand carved herself, the large flowers on the wallpaper, the glimpse of her special brush and mirror sitting on her dressing table … it’s these things that make up the memories. So often today I find myself cutting out the background in my photos, using close ups to avoid the messy house and horrible curtains … but maybe one day it will be these things the kids will be looking for in my photos, searching for the memories of the house they grew up in.

Right, gotta go … kids to pick up, soccer practice to get to

my-signature1

10 Responses

  1. Absolutely gorgeous work Beverley … and how right you are about the ‘background’ items in photos holding the true memories … often we forget this in the efforts to create the perfect shot.

  2. Just gorgeous and yep exactly what you and Heidi said – it is often the background that brings back the memories…

  3. Just beautiful Beverley. I love that you are scrapping your memories of your Grandma. I don’t even know if I have pics of the pics that are in my head 🙂

    I will continue to take photos with background in them. I purposely do this every now and then jus to remember as you say. Such as the pics of bub with baby toys around them, they change so quickly, you get new ones as they grow. It is nice to look back and remember what they loved to play with.

    Cee

  4. Wow!!! this page is truly a treasure itself and befits your grandma I think Bev.
    But tell me…… just HOW MANY layers have you got going on there?? It’s mind boggling – but very gorgeous

  5. Too gorgeous!! I love it, just like the photo, there’s so many details to look at. That’s a great point – those photos are how things truly are, not just the times we’ve cleaned the house for a day to get ready for guests!

  6. Just lovely Beverly

  7. Gulp – sensational!!!

  8. Just love this layout Bev, you are right, so often we want to chop out the background, but you are right in years to come, they will hold special memories. Love your use of stamps and water colour.

  9. It really is a ‘treasure’ – fantastic!

  10. Oh, Beverley, when I commented on this layout in the gallery, I didn’t realise it was you, lol! It is a very beautiful page, and it’s so nice that the photo holds so many memories for you. And you are totally right re the background; I had never thought of that before. I’m always taking close-up photos … but maybe not ‘always’ anymore!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

