• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

I’ve been sewing.

Inspired by the angelic one … I’ve had my sewing machine out.

003

Mum gave me this Janelle Wind bag pattern for Christmas, so it’s about time I sewed it up. It’s called ‘Thelma’s Day Out’ … the less tactful people in this house think it looks like a skirt with handles.

001

I like it anyway! The elephants remind me of a little golden book story that I enjoyed as a child and read to Jessi while we were at Mum and Dad’s recently. I can’t remember what it’s called but it’s about a girl elephant called Petunia who liked to roller skate. Elephant on Wheels maybe …. anyway I really like the colours in the pictures.

It was a bit of a challenge to actually follow a pattern (usually I just make it up) but I think all the measuring and pins and stuff was worth while, it’s a nice bag to carry around and a good size to carry A4 books and papers. The only things I did differently from the pattern was to make the handles slightly longer and add in a couple of internal pockets for my cell phone, keys and small bits which would otherwise get lost in the bottom somewhere.

While I had the sewing machine out I also did a bit of mending, made myself some pj pants and helped Rebekah sew herself a new pencil case. I intend on making the girls a skirt or two but that will have to wait till after I’ve done some more scrapping.

This layout …

012

is up on the Fiskars blog as a focus on journalling. I decided to stamp my journalling using alpha stamps … makes a change from the usual handwritten scrawl.

0141

Papers are Ink by Steph and the stamps are Hero Arts.

Okay …  back to the scrap corner.

my-signature2

13 Responses

  1. Great bag, love the pattern. 🙂

  2. Soooo….my birthday’s in September 😀

    This is GORGEOUS! Making the handles longer was a good idea, big bags need long handles!

    Love the layout too – do I spot a little of that chain that was too soft to make a bracelet with?!

  3. Yep, can see why you’d need pockets in the bag, it’s a long way down to the bottom to find your ringing cellphone lol! Nah, it’s very cool Beverley!

  4. I LOVE your bag!! And the layout!! Very cool!!

  5. Love that bag!! (do I recognise the pattern you used….?) Loving the scrap page too. LOL at Sarah’s hint!!!

  6. Love the bag Beverley – Janelle Wind designs the coolest stuff, I have her blog on bloglines and she is super talented!! The layout is gorgeous as usual!!!

  7. love the bag … well done; it is deep tho!! and the LO is fab … love the colours and the stamped journalling is cool.

  8. Love the stamped journalling, and admire your patience doing it.
    That bag is gorgeous, would definitely need pockets though, keys etc would be lost forever. LOL

  9. Amazing looking bag and I’m thinking you put a row of pockets on the inside didn’t you to cover the keys and cell phone … cos otherwise one could be fossicking for quite some time … lol.

    Layout – rocks … so is that a piece of chain with a little bling in amongst the ribbon and flower … as for the journalling done like that … awesome!

  10. it’s a gorgeous bag!! I so miss making them 😦

  11. Me too I used to do this in Oz and miss it of sorts..nah onto the next craft!
    Love the LO too Bev

  12. Bev you have done an excellent job with your bag. It looks totally stunning. Love this layout too – love all the jounralling down the side an also like the way you have stamped and love the old page used in your layout. Jut love checking out your work.

  13. Hi Bev, that bag is so divine!!!! Your layouts are all gorgeous on your blog too!! So lovely to see your creations!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

