• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

A year in review

I’ve just been flicking through the past year of photos in Picasa. It’s been quite a year … thought I might share some of it. {Be warned … I think this is the longest post I’ve ever done!}

January started with our awesome family holiday in the South Island. Although I took a small stash of scrapping supplies with us, they remained in the car and not a lot of scrapping happened during January. At the end of January was my cousin’s wedding and I put my supplies to use in creating these love letters.

020

February saw Jessianna turn four. It was an awesome month for blogging … lots of archives there and I gave my scrap space a bit of a make-over.

009

March … was a fab month for scrappy stuff. I demonstrated at Spotlight for fiskars, and had this layout accepted for publication. I joined the Scrap of Faith team. I entered a comp at Maya Rd and won a bunch of very cool Maya Rd stuff. I had an article in SBO’s E-Zine. I discovered Strano Ribbon Stiff and Stampin’ Up and even had a card in the Basic Grey Gallery.

0081

April was the month our car broke. It also seems to be the month I began a fasination with trees and pulled out my Indian Ink to try some new ideas.

065

May was the month that things changed in the scrapping world … Scrapbook Essentials ceased to be and The Sketchbook was born. I got a mention on Scrap Scene for the truly trendy competition.  Jessi started morning kindy … which gave me more time to scrap during the day. I was also loving sketches … and the ease in which they turn into satisfying layouts.

0101

June … saw a visit to the Sky tower. Had a bit of fun with the So you think you can Scrap comp and got on to the ’09 Paper Pesto Design Team. It’s funny looking back at my layouts … obviously Making Memories, Basic Grey archaic, and Chatterbox Artsilicious were favourite paper ranges.

00811

July was when Rebekah turned 9. I was guest designer at Daring Cardmakers. Jessi cut her hair off, while playing hairdressers with her friends. I tried scrapping ‘Louise’ style and liked it.

0151

August was the month Grandma passed away. There have been odd times when she has been really missed … Jessi in particular still asks about her. It was strange not making her a Christmas gift this year. August was also the month that Alexander turned 7 and Lauryn got married.

0021

September I joined Bad Girls school, that was fun … I enjoyed extending my scrapping skills and being inspired in new and awesome ways. I had this layout accepted for Up2Scrap, using yet more of my ever growing Stampin’ Up supplies.I guess it’s a good layout for right now … new years resolutions and all. I really do want to get on top of this in 2009 but it means I need to sort out a few medical issues as well, it’s not simply a case of eating well and exercising regularly.

0304

October brought with it the awesomeness of SENZ.  Good shopping, good friends, good classes and good times. I became a little addicted to alcohol inks and enjoyed playing Tim Holtz style.  And there was High Tea fun with the girls as an early birthday celebration for me.I made this layout for Wesley … a friend from church, who has spent his 2008 fighting cancer.

106

November was definitely the highlight of the year for me. Turning 35 in Australia, meeting all the SOF girls, holidaying with Mum, feeding an elephant … it was all so amazing. Teaching my layout class at the SOF retreat was also a big thing … so very cool how it all came together … and the scrap supplies I came back with were also worth remembering.

0182

And that only leaves December, which will be remembered as the great card making month! Prima and Amy Butler being my new favourites in supplies.

1873

And that would be an almost complete review of 2008 as it was in my life. ‘Almost’ complete because I will have no doubt forgotten lots that happened … in fact, I had forgotten most of this … yay for keeping a blog which helps me remember stuff!

Thanks for being a part of my 2008 by reading and commenting on my blog, thanks for the friendship … many of you I now count as real life friends not just on-line acquaintances.

May your 2009 bring with it lots of good times … Happy New Year!

15 Responses

  1. Congratulations what a great post and a wonderful way to remember what you have done for the year.
    Wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year.

  2. great post Beverley! Hope you have a wonderful 2009.

  3. It sounds like a very eventful year in review. Happy new year.

  4. Happy New Year to you and your family

  5. That’s a really neat post! I really enjoyed reading about your busy & eventful year and seeing the layouts you’ve done along the way. I might try something similar with mine, as I do like looking back over the past months and remembering good (and even not so good) times.

    Have a wonderful New Year!

  6. I love that as I read this post, I could recall you writing about most of it…certainly brings back memories. Happy New Year Beverley, I hope we get to catch up again in 2009!

  7. Enjoyed reading through your post … I’m one of your imaginery friends – lol – but will have the opportunity to meet with you at scrap camp … not long to go now.

    May 2009 bring you much happiness.

  8. Happy New Year to you and your family, Beverley; it was great to share your year in review with you.

  9. Certainly an eventful year.
    I hope 2009 brings you much happiness…..Happy New Year to you and your family.

  10. Loved seeing the review of your year and what an awesome year it has been. Guess the highlight of the year for me also was meeting you all in November. Wishing you and your family a wonderful New Year Bev, may it be filled with JOY and exciting new challenges. Please say Hi to your Mum for me also and wish her the best for the New Year too.

  11. GREAT list/post – whew I am tired reading it – you are one busy woman!!! looking forward to 09…. and I have a suggestion for a class/classes for our scrap get togethers… as part of my 2009 (type) resolutions…. so I will catch up with you over January…
    happy new year

  12. Great review and Happy New Year to you

  13. It sure was an eventful year for you and the family. Nice to see it month by month and would make a great scrappy page or 2! LOL

  14. Happy New Year, loved your year in review. Whoo ho at your brother and his family surprising you all, what a neat Christmas to remember. How very cool that Michael managed to surprise you too with the braclet.

  15. Awesome Beverley – loved reading back on your year and seeing the amazing layouts you’ve been creating.
    Wow you’ve been busy alright!
    See you in April!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

