• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • October 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Yesterday

I took myself to the movies yesterday … had one of those ‘just want to hide from the world’ kind of days.

So I found myself at a quaint little movie theatre in Island Bay … stocked up with caffeine and chocolate I sat and watched The Edge of Love …

Two feisty, free-spirited women are connected by the brilliant, charismatic poet who loves them both. The passion and pathos of legendary poet Dylan Thomas is told through the lives of two extraordinary women.

The snippets of Dylan Thomas poetry brought back memories of English 101 … yep at some point in my life I actually knew poetic terms and was able to analyse a poem to bits … all with the goal of passing tests and exams and gaining a degree.

Two hours later the movie finished and I wasn’t ready to quite face the world yet so I walked. The beauty of the south coast is amazing … the strong wind and wild waves made it even awesomer and add to that the incredible sunset … it was just what I needed. Two hours later every part of me felt refreshed, renewed and ready to take on the world again.

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

In memory of Grandad, who passed away a year ago yesterday, on Nana’s birthday.


					
13 Responses

  1. That sounds like a really lovely thing to do, Beverley. It’s been ages since I went to a movie on my own – but I quite enjoy doing it. Good on you for noticing that you needed some time out, and for actually taking the time to have it! 🙂 I’m glad you feel so much better now as a result.

  2. What a great idea, having “me” time is something we tend to forget about. I understand that now having a child! Good on you for taking time our when needed, you have inspired me. 🙂

  3. You know, I don’t think I’ve ever been to the movies on my own… it sounds so…. INDULGENT! Might just have to do it! Hope you feel heaps better for doing that – and love the poem dedicated to your Grandad.

  4. what a good idea…. a great way to take some time… actually I watched a movie yesterday with that very poem in it….. hope you have a good week

  5. Hey – new profile picture! 🙂 Very noice.

    Sounds like a good escape you had there. {hugs}

  6. great movie huh, I saw it last week.

    Big hugs on this special day.

  7. Something I’ve never done … gone to the movies by myself. And sounds like you enjoyed your walk as well … go you!!!

    Big hugs – you have special memories to hold on to!

  8. Go you for taking some “me time” and renewing your tank. It is so important as woman we do this. Loved that you did this and felt ready to face the world after doing so. I had planned to go see Brideshead revisted and the Duchess on Wednesday as my treat for the last two days of spring cleaning and more organizing. If I can not kick this cold I will try and do it next week.

  9. Am pleased that you took some time out for yourself. A lovely tribute to your Grandad.

  10. Nothing like a wild windswept beach to clear away the cobwebs…

  11. Love that poem.

    And no better indulgence than to go to the mivies on your own – good for you!

  12. Mivies? Well, you know I meant movies!

  13. Perfect movie to see alone! Moody and beautiful at the same time, love the poem!!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

