• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

Simple with White Space.

Well, the bad girls academy sent me on a huge learning curve this week. Less is More … that is so not in my thoughts while scrapping but it had to be this week.

I admire people that can do white space well … I love clean layouts that look like advertisments … I really like the clustered all in one spot look… it’s just not something I do well myself.

The class talked of balance, unity, space … I even did extra research on white space. White space is good, but wasted space or trapped white space is not so good. Of course there were the ‘must’ haves for a layout of mine – photo, title, journalling … I didn’t want to miss out the journalling just cause I was trying to cut down on stuff on my page.

So my first attempt turned out like this:

But I wasn’t totally happy with it so I tried a different approach.

This is the one I put in the gallery but I’m still not confident that it will get me through to the next round. And if it doesn’t … I guess I’ll be wishing I’d picked the first one!

Moving on … and I’m about to sew myself a new bag … messenger style with lots of pockets. I have the fabric … actually I have some table runners in pretty colours and cool textures which I found on clearance from Spotlight. I’ve done lots of google research and have decided what features I want it to have. So now I’ve just got to work out how to make my sewing machine do what I want.

Hope your weekend is going well …

16 Responses

  1. funny really cause up until about 6 months ago I didn’t ‘get’ the white space thing, let alone be able to do it! Yet now white space and simple is exactly what I do.

    Love your attempt – perfect!

  2. Have fun with the sewing machine…Tough choice on the layouts. Isn’t it funny how we always covet another’s way of scrapping – I love white space and if I make my layouts too ‘busy’ then they somehow look wrong to me, but I love how you layer, it never looks cluttered, just looks perfect.

  3. Well, it sure took you out your comfort zone! LOL. I’m going for the less is more look on my layouts but have to agree with you about the journalling. Good luck with this round.

  4. Awesome layouts Beverly! yay for trying something new!

  5. yeah I’m with Trace – love your layered l/o’s – as for these 2 – I like the circle one – it adds something different to draw your eyes too….. happy sewing…

  6. They are both great!
    I have been experimenting a little more with white space, and I think I like it! 😉

  7. Both rock … truly … your scrapping and creativity blows me away, not just some of the time, but all of the time!!!

  8. Love both layouts! I am really liking layouts with ‘white space’ – I think I tend towards this more then the layered, lots of product look.

  9. Great layouts Beverley – even if it is outside your comfort zone, I am sure they will get you through to the next level. Just wishing I was getting a chance to get some scrapbooking done,

  10. Well I think ya did just fine with the white space!

    Looking forward to seeing the bag.

  11. Like how the top one turned out, but the second is my fav, as my eye is drawn to the middle by teh arrows and the photos. I hear you going out of the comfort zone though. Oh I can’t wait to see your finished product of the bag.

  12. Funny isn’t it I feel I scrap with too much white space and would love to do really full detailed layouts.

  13. BTW I think the second choice was my fav too.

  14. I LOVE both these! Spotting lots of Primas too 😀

    Um, you sew too?!? You rock! I have a machine…..and intend to learn how to sew something other than a straight line one of these days….that’s after I buy a new presser foot….mine’s been missing awhile now! lol

  15. Good luck with the sewing you are a braver woman that I lol I hate sewing with the machine,

    I LOVE both layouts but I reckon the second one is just FAB!! love how it is clean and stunning but not the traditional style of white space IYKWIM – go girl I would vote you thru hands down !!

  16. look forward to seeing the bag when it’s done!

Thanks for your thoughts ...

