• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • July 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

A bit of reading.

So, it’s been a full on last few days. I’ve got lots to share but thought I’d start with this:

The worlds largest floating bookshop. It’s on a ship called the Doulos which is parked at Queens Wharf in Wellington for the next couple of weeks.

It has a huge variety of books, lots of kids books, cookbooks, educational books, hobbies books, Christian books … well worth a visit if you’re in the area. You can go on board and look round the bookshop for free or pay something like $5 to be taken on a tour round the whole ship.

The boat was built in 1914, so it’s two years younger than the titanic and very cool.

So, seeing as I’m thinking books today, I thought I’d do the book list thing that I’ve seen on everyone’s blogs lately.

The ones in bold are ones I’ve read:

01. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
02. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
03. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
04. Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
05. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
06. The Bible
07. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
08. Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
09. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
10. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
11. Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
12. Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
13. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
14. Complete Works of Shakespeare – lots of it, but probably not all.
15. Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
16. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
17. Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
18. Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
19. The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
20. Middlemarch – George Eliot
21. Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
22. The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
23. Bleak House – Charles Dickens
24. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
25. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
26. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
27. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
28. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
29. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
30. The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
31. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33. Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
34. Emma – Jane Austen
35. Persuasion – Jane Austen
36. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis

37. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

38. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
40. Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne

41. Animal Farm – George Orwel

42. The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
43. One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44. A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
45. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
46. Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
47. Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
49. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
50. Atonement – Ian McEwan
51. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
52. Dune – Frank Herbert
53. Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
54. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
55. A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
57. A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
58. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
59. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
60. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
61. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
62. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63. The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
65. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68. Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
69. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70. Moby Dick – Herman Melville
71. Oliver Twist- Charles Dickens
72. Dracula – Bram Stoker
73. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
74. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75. Ulysses – James Joyce
76. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
77. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78. Germinal – Emile Zola
79. Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
80. Possession – AS Byatt
81. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
82. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
84. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
86. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
87. Charlotte’s Web – EB White
88. The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
89. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
90. The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
91. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
92. The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
93. The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
94. Watership Down – Richard Adams
95. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96. A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
98. Hamlet- William Shakespeare
99. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

I think I can thank a degree  in Education/English for a good few of those … and to be honest … I don’t think I’ve read even one novel type book so far this year … so it’s obviously not an accurate record of my current relationship with reading! No, wait … I’ve read Charlie and the great glass elevator to Alexander recently … that counts I’m sure.

And I’m about to go curl up in bed and read Prince Caspian in preparation for watching the movie sometime soon. I’ll be back for a creative share later.

7 Responses

  1. Wow I love the idea of shiploads of books;p Nah serious, must be rather cool to visit such an amazing old boat and see all those books at the same time! Hope it comes up to Auck and I havent missed it already .

  2. Ilka’s out of luck! It was in Auckland last week.end..I didn’t manage to get to it, but one of our kids did, and they took heaps of photos to share – very cool!

  3. The Doulos is pretty cool, huh?! We visited the last time it came to Auckland (not this time, but several years ago) and I stocked up majorly on books! 😉

  4. You have the Doulas in your harbor! That’s exciting as I have wanted to work on that ship, or one of the others, since I was a young girl. I read George Verwer’s (the man who started the work with these ships) book, Come, Live, Die…when I was a young woman and I was so moved by it that it changed my life. It never worked out to join them as my children were so involved in thieir growing up, that it just didn’t work out. I had thought to teach the staff’s’ children, thinking it would be a life-changing experience for the children and me. But, alas, plans often don’t work as we hoped. The ship we were interested in was the Logos–I believe it was there first ship.

    I’m so glad I found your website–I followed it from another website, because I am looking for the challenge to make a winter card and I thought it was you who was creating it.

    So, how very exciting for you to have been able to visit the Doulas. Also, you have quite an impressive list of books on your site. I am an avid reader, so appreciate finding others who love books!!

    It was a real treat to find your blog!

    Joan from Oregon

  5. I think I saw the name of Doulas but had no idea what it was. How exciting to have floating book palace! Hopefully it will still be in town when I get back!

  6. I saw this on Campbell Live a few weeks back when they were in Auckland, it was amazing and so are the united nations of everyone who works on there for free. Such an amazing experience.

  7. we went on that ship years ago I think….. didn’t realise it was back in town… and as for the movie prince Caspian It is FAB – you will love it!!! (I did)

Thanks for your thoughts ...

