• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

In my happy, scrappy place.

So today marked the end of round three in the ‘so you think you can scrap’ comp.

Here’s what I did:

Using a bunch of things from Lianne’s style. Gotta admit the competitive part of me is pretty happy with my 9 points from this round!

I’ve been reading a few blogs today and it’s got me thinking, why am I doing this, why do I do challenges… it’s all to do with the fact that I really quite like scrapbooking, I really quite like deadlines for getting stuff done and I really quite like having some of the decisions made for me – whether that be a list of ingredients to use or a sketch or whatever.

I learned a long time ago, that if I really don’t like a layout then I don’t take a photo of it … you won’t see the really bad ones on-line (you’ll have to come to my house and search pizza boxes for those!) And if I don’t have time to make another one then I let that deadline, that comp go by. I might be miffed for a bit, but I get over it and move on. Another day, another layout, another competition.

I have also made a decision to not be ruled by competitions, if I find I’m not enjoying the process, don’t like the challenge, feel extra pressured by the deadline, then I let it go … I’m a big girl, I can pick and choose what I do and don’t do. This goes for magazine submissions too!

So, what it comes down to, I’m scrapbooking for me! I might use competitions as motivation, or as the ‘so you think you can scrap’ comp is – for stretching my skills, but still, I need to be happy with the layouts that I produce, they need to mean something to me.

I had a bunch of ‘found’ objects which I was going to put on this latest page as my ‘something unexpected’ but when I stepped back and looked at it, I decided I just wouldn’t be happy with my layout if I put them on – so I didn’t. I also used a photo and a topic that I’d been meaning to scrap about for a while now. And I used the 12×6 size not only because I noticed Lianne is awesome at this size, but because this layout is for my ‘Book of Faith’ which is all layouts of this size.

Well then, that’s about as deep and meaningful as you get from me! Please don’t be offended if you see or do things differently, I just wanted to write down some of my thoughts on the subject. I’m really enjoying the place where I’m at in my scrapping at the moment … it’s a happy, scrappy place.

14 Responses

  1. I love your layout Beverley! I’m the same… love challenges for making me stretch myself a bit, deadlines can be fun (if you have the time) and sketches provide so many ideas that it makes scrapping easier when the mojo isn’t flowing. GOOD LUCK with the competition too!!

  2. Yep, we’re all individuals, you’ve got to do what’s right for you. I love that layout, but most of all I love that photo, would so want to sit there, clear my head and watch the world go by…

  3. Go Beverley… I was so stoked to see you up there!
    For me I find challenges just that… challenging…

    My normal process is so unorganised I think thats why I find it hard to work to a goal… but thats why they call it a challenge right 😉

  4. I love this lo, it is just so gorgeous.
    And yep I am a lot like you in how I approach challenges.

  5. Well done on those nine points thats awesome Beverley. While challenges have been good for me with limited time whilst I was studying (it meant I had a deadline and a fix). I now want to scrap more for me, and get down some of the other stories I have been wanting to get down. It’s been so long since I have done that that it will be interesting to see if I remember how to scrap for me (that will be a challenge enough for me) lol. Love your challenge philiosophy and what a great scrappy palce to be.

  6. Congrats on your “win” for this round, Beverley!
    I totally agree with your sentiments. I’ve never been a huge “challenge junkie” until now (being a contributer on the Sketch Book has forced me to start being one) but I will definitely only ever scrap for ME and not for any other reason. That goes for DT stuff as well, I have to love it and want to scrap with it (luckily I’ve never been given product I didn’t like … LOL).
    Like you, I use competitions/challenges as motivation or inspiration, but at the end of the day the layouts have to mean something to me or it’s not worth it.

  7. I do like the way you think 🙂 And it’s why I haven’t been doing every possible challenge that is out there. I have to feel like it fits with me before I attempt it. Like you I enjoy having some of the things decided for me now and again. But if it doesn’t pull my chain (as my hubby says) then I’m unlikely to try it out. 😉

    I can think of places like that one too 🙂 Love the colours.

  8. I can so relate to those comments! I like deadlines because its a firm date that I know it needs done by and challenges are perfect for helping me think outside my own head. I was wondering why you hadnt blogged and popped over to see you have made quite a few posts since my last visit but bloglines hasnt let me know :o( oh well its all good because now I can make a cuppa and be happily inspired as I read through your blog for the last several post lol!

  9. I love your page and this size for layouts but havn’t pushed myself to do more than one page :0 Very Lianne with the random arty background and stitches 🙂 I love the structure of challenges too, it leaves the decision making out of it for me, I find layouts I do that are not for a challenge are a bit boring in comparison the layouts that I do for a challenge. And I too just pick and choose the ones that float my boat and leave the others. I miss lots too mostly because I just run out of time.
    Keep up the good work with the comp! I must go take a peek!

  10. Love your happy scrappy attitude. Isn’t that what it is supposed to be about anyway – scrapping because you love it and its not a chore. I pick and choose what I do because there are just so many and it does get a bit overwhelming.

    Congrats on the points this week and yay I got notified via bloglines of your post.

  11. Thank you for visiting my blog Beverly. I love knowing who visits that way I can come over here and say hi to you……… Love your blog too by the way and that layout totally rocks!!!!

    Leanne

  12. Yep can see that you are totally in a great scrappy place atm … awesome …

    Now I have difficulty believing that you have ‘dud’ layouts my friend in any of your pizza boxes. LOL.

  13. Beverley – I’m with ya 😉 My ‘bad’ ones don’t make it online either. In fact I would like to redo them cause I’m just not happy with them. I too like the comps for the same reasons. And my confidence and my style have changed so much since I did the ‘Biggest User’ comp last year. I loved it! I too also like the ‘rules’ being set out for a page too. it helps. Just wish I had more time for things these days.

  14. Fabulous layout Bevereley, and I agree with your comments, you need to scrap for yourself, and not because it’s all part of the challenge… I found that when I started scrapping just for me, I have scrapped by best…

Thanks for your thoughts ...

