• About Me

    https://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • May 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    mandyb on Grace
    Donna springgay on The next page.
    Naomi Carvell on A new thing …
    mandyb on A new thing …
    mandyb on The first page

The Pamper Thing

So it went well. Not quite as many people as we had hoped but still a fairly good sized group.

The decorating was fairly minimal – it’s such a large area to decorate so I concentrated on the door frames. The white paper was decorated with glitter but by the time I’d finished putting it up I think most of the glitter was on me – I had a nice sparkle for the night. The birds are made of felt – yep we had a bird theme going on.

The gift bags and the ‘programme’ booklets. Inside the gift bag was some bits and pieces to make the bookmark, a blue Whitaker’s chocolate bar, a lip gloss, and some face cream samples.

The card samples which people could copy from to make one of their own. Mostly all Stampin’ Up! stuff there. I borrowed the stamps and one of those stamp cleaner thingys – only problem is I don’t want to give them back. Might be buying me some Stampin’ Up supplies I think!

One of the other activities was to plant some herbs to go on the window sill, so I provided some bits to make some flowers to go in the pots too. I got the flower idea off Nic Howard’s blog.

I don’t have pics of the other activities, but there was massage, make up stuff, nail manicures, posture/exercise advice, bracelet making, cooking demonstrating and an awesome supper.

Oh yeah, and I made cupcakes. It almost didn’t happen, first the cakes soaked into the cases too much and they looked kinda odd, then my piping bag had an extra hole, so I had icing coming out the side which made for very frustrating decorating. But I loved how the birdies turned out. I embossed the icing with a cuttlebug embossing folder in my sizzix machine. I’d seen the idea using a fiskars texture plate thingy but I don’t own one of those. But it was sooooo easy – I just put a ball of softened white icing inside the embossing folder and squished it in the sizzix. It came out flat and embossed so all I had to do was cut out the birdies using a perfectly shaped playdough cutter.

So after all that organising and preparing I had to spend some time scrapping this weekend. I worked on the Friday night challenge for The Sketch Book.

Was supposed to use blue and green – I couldn’t help adding brown and a splash of pink. Poker dots and stripes – that part was fairly easy. Photo corners – now that was really hard to do, I just don’t do photo corners, never have liked them. It was just as well, there were some in the Cloud 9 kit, made it easier to put them on there. Brads – I would have used brown ones, if I had some, had to go with bling ones from Stampin’ Up! A bird or owl – I made another felt owl, this time with a beaded tummy. And while the beads were out, I added a few more. Then I decided it was about time I revisited hand stitching, so I did some of that too.

Speaking of The Sketch Book – it’s so very cool to see how many people have joined up there over the last few days. It very definitely is the place to be!

13 Responses

  1. Laughing at how you just “threw this together”…. man!! It is gorgeous! Love your wee owl.

    Sounds like you had a great night and that it went very well. I would NEVER have thought to emboss icing. Now there’s a new trick!

  2. Sounds like you had a great night – love all the thought that went into it – the decorations – blue and white theme – the birdies were gorgeous especially those little ones on the cupcakes. Layouts look great too.

  3. Great ideas there Beverley. Loved the way you did the birds on the icing!! Very cool. Have to confess to stalking your blog … and have been meaning to comment, but everytime I have gone to do that my son has done something naughty, so the last week I haven’t been doing much commenting at all! Anyway what I wanted to ask was … your LO you did of your son and his dino story – where did you get the large dino from? It’s awesome. I have asked at a couple of shops here about dinos that size and I get a very blank look! Thanks. Rachel

  4. well I love teh cupcakes very cool….gosh you do have the patience of a saint. The cards look stunning…love teh colour combo and it sounds like a wdonerful evening. Am with kelly and laughing at yout throwing a layout together…..pfft wish I could thorw something together like that.

  5. Wow – you do such lovely work girl 🙂 And you’ve been so busy!

  6. I love those cupcakes – aren’t you clever to think of using your embossing folder! They are super cute and all the other little touches look wonderful. I’m happy your night went well!

  7. Now thats takes embossing to a whole new level. What a great night and love the cards and flowers.

  8. Wow, sounds like an awesome time was had. Love the wee cupcakes and the stand too! Great idea to use the embossing folder!

  9. Well who would have ever thought you could emboss icing? What a cool idea. I love all the brown and blue, such a gorgeous combo.

  10. Embosing icing – I’ve heard it all now my friend … your creative talents are amazing.

    Layout … well I love it … sounds like I am repeating myself … and I am and will continue to do just that for quite some time.

    An cupcake icing and cupcakes – ummmmmmmmm … they look sensational!!!

  11. It sounds like the evening went well. Love the cupcakes, so cute, and so unique with the embossed icing!
    LOVE the layout! Just absolutely gorgeous. Lots ot look and and ooh and ahh aver.

  12. Love the cupcake birdies – very cool.
    Great lo too.

  13. Wow, love the LO, the flowers in the pots and the cupcakes especially, they look amazing!

    Sounds like a fabulous event.

    Did you get a chance for some pampering of your own on the night?

Thanks for your thoughts ...

