• About Me

    http://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • December 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Feb »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    Tracey Agnew on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    Vicki on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    Hannah on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    mandyb on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    Karen Latham on The Party

The Party

It looks like a bit of catch-up blogging is in order … November was a BIG month! You might want to make a cup of tea … this is a huge post.

093

After being rather undecided about celebrating 40 I finally made up my mind to have a little party … a garden tea party actually. So invites went out and the work began to transform our overgrown jungle backyard into an acceptable party space … always with the uncertainty of ‘what if it rains?’ … but we went ahead with planning and just hoped for the best.

127

As it turned out we had some absolutely gorgeous days leading up to the party day … and then on the day the wind decided to make an appearance … making it a little challenging to keep tablecloths on tables and rather difficult to hold on to one’s dress.

123

My little jars of flowers had to have rocks added to keep them on the tables … I probably should have expected that, given that we live in Wellington … but still, they added the ‘pretty’ look I was hoping for.

099

I’ve got to be honest, this wasn’t the perfect pinterest party I had imagined … there were limitations on time and budget and weather. I chose to go to Church in the morning instead of spending that time setting things up. I chose to do many things myself instead of hiring caterers. I chose to have the kids involved in setting up and helping out. I am exceedingly grateful to Janine and my inlaws who pitched in and got it all set up just in time.

273

And I’m thankful for friends and family who helped with the making yummy stuff to add to the table.

004

 

It may not have been pinterest perfect but it was certainly perfectly perfect for me.

006

It’s quite impressive just how many tea cup sets Janine and I own between us.

Speaking of us … here we are …

086

 

 

007

These macarons were the most yummiest of yum … I ordered them from Nikki at Creative Cooking … yes, I can make them myself, but not such a variety of flavours and not when I’m busy making other stuff as well … and it was a fun adventure for Jessi and I to sneak out early on Sunday morning before Church and pick them up from City Market.

008

There was fruit too … lots of fruit.

010

And Bekah made a good waitress handing out hot food …

035

She was also the chief photographer so most of these photos are from her perspective.

118

There was a selection of blankets to spread out on the grass for picnic style relaxing (we shall not mention the areas of dirt and new grass seed which was optimistically spread a week before the party!)

141

And we had iced tea in little bottles with mint green chevron straws.

147

152

And real tea in fancy teapots.

150

Oh and I made a sign … cos I saw one like it on pinterest. This was one of my favourite preparation moments … with the weather being so beautiful in the week before I was able to be outside in the evenings painting … and with the left over paint I painted the bunting on the wall too.

163

 

And then there was cake. This was really just a ‘for looks’ kind of cake … I made it myself and it looked better than it tasted!

226

It’s the first time I’ve used fondant icing like this … not quite as easy as pinterest would have you believe.

260

 

And I wanted it ombre inside as well … but didn’t fancy the idea of eating teal coloured cake so I made the inside pink.

235

And maybe one of my favourite ‘came together perfectly’ things was this dress. I’ve been wanting a dress for ages but haven’t been able to find one exactly how I wanted … kinda vintage looking, and pretty and kinda teal … and not too short … Well, the night before the party I decided I’d just have to make one … only I didn’t have a whole lot of time … but I did  have the perfect vintage sheet. Rebekah helped … and all up it took only about an hour … no fussing with patterns and measuring and pinning … actually a little measuring cos I wanted it to fit of course … but I think we broke all the rules of sewing which she’s learned in school this year!

180

And it was perfectly fine … except for the part where it was windy of course!

And that was that … 40 has been celebrated … and such a blessing to have so many friends and family to celebrate it with.

my signature

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses

  1. Well it looked like a fab day!

  2. It sure does look like a fab day and looks pinterest perfect to me. LOL. No wonder you are still recovering from November??? ;)

  3. What a beautiful party. My friend turned 40 last month and also had a garden tea party – it’s really such a lovely way to celebrate. I love the look of your decorations and the cake, and your dress is gorgeous.

  4. WOW you are so amazingly creative and I just laughed out loud (literally) at the last photograph that your lovely photographer captured and I’m so glad you included it in your post.
    You are so crazy sewing a dress at the last minute and without a pattern too, but it turned out beautifully!
    Happy belated birthday too.

  5. how cool!!! what a fun day!!!
    all the food and that cake looks amazing
    and all those tea cups….wow they are very cool!!!
    glad you had a great birthday!!!

  6. Looks like a totally Pinterest perfect party to me Bev. Congratulations on turning 40… Hope it is a wonderful year for you. I truely love catching up on your blog and all your creativity… You have inspired me to get my scrapbooking out and get going… I have missed it, so need to make a concentrated effort this year to get more done…
    Your party looks amazing by the way… love your dress, love the picnic idea… it looks like you have all had a great time…

Thanks for your thoughts ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

