• About Me

    http://bubblesofmylife.wordpress.com/about/
  • July 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

  • Recent Comments

    Tracey Agnew on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    Vicki on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    Hannah on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    mandyb on Excuse the dust and cobwebs…
    Karen Latham on The Party

Stars Week Eight

This week was master card maker Dawn McVey. She makes cards … obviously … so no layouts this week, we had to make a card.

 

Now I like her style … typically clean and uncluttered yet still with layers … but my list of ‘style must-haves’ became much larger than what I could show on just one card … this was the real challenge. I ended up with 4 cards and then had that problem of only picking one to enter.

 

This first card I made quickly and took a photo just before it was rushed off to a birthday party. One of the things that really captured me about Dawn’s style was the vintage feel … the old yet new vintage inspired look. In this card I used a library card and the book print paper to get that look. I also added a handcut flower, button and a banner border that goes over the edges of the card.

I had more time so I decided to try again. This time I added in a stamped image straight onto the patterned paper and a brad … still trying to keep it simple.

Then I decided I should perhaps try a different colour combination and an embossed background and some twine and a stamped notepaper.

And then I went back to the scraps of spotty paper to make a die cut flower and I added a real vintage bus ticket … which I don’t think is really Dawn’s style as she is more likely to use a vintage inspired but new ticket.

Not sure I’m really satisfied with any of them but it was good to get out a few supplies I hadn’t used in a while … I have way too many stamps for a scrapbooker! Oh and I picked the yellow one in the end.

 

7 Responses

  1. So you made a “collection” of cards.LOL. I think they all look great and just might be doing a wee lift!! Good luck.

  2. wow you were busy, and I see you captured her style again by the photo you took and the props. Gorgeous collection of cards and yippe for using up supplies. My favs are the first and the yellow one that you submitted, The fab thing is you have a collection of cards to use.

  3. Beautiful cards :-)

  4. They all look fab. Now had you been at my house, you’d have heard some not very nice language while doing this challenge ROFL.

  5. heehee classic! wait till you read my post:) all I can say is I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! Your cards are all great though. best of luckxx

  6. oh so pretty!!! and wow now you have 4 cards!!! lol!!
    good luck on the challenge!!

  7. Love the cards Bev, I have just bought the Stampin Up stamp that you used on your first card and I am keen now to use it too.

Thanks for your thoughts ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

